Information About Minnesota South Area

Al‑Anon and Alateen in the United States and Canada is made up of 67 Areas. In the US, most Areas consist of a whole state. Minnesota is one of six states that are divided into two Areas, Minnesota South and Minnesota North. The boundary consists of the north borders of Washington, Anoka, Wright, Meeker, Kandiyohi, Swift and Big Stone counties. Most of the groups in the Twin Cities metropolitan area are in the Minnesota South Area, although a few are in the Minnesota North Area or the Wisconsin Area.

Areas, including Minnesota South, have regularly scheduled Assemblies (first Saturdays in April and October for Minnesota South) attended by Group Representatives (GRs) from groups in the area, as well as any Al‑Anon or Alateen members who wish to attend.

Al-Anon/Alateen Districts

Al‑Anon/Alateen Areas are divided into Districts, each containing one or more Al‑Anon and/or Alateen groups. Each district should have a District Representative (DR) as well as other District officers, but not all do. Most districts have regularly scheduled district meetings, chaired by the DR, to which every group in the district is entitled to send its GR.

Minnesota South Area is divided into 21 Districts.

The Serenity Prayer

Email Us
Updated July 17, 2017